7/1/12 at TD Bank Ballpark

Another game at the local ballpark. This time it was the Patriots going up against the Bridgeport Bluefish. Last time I attended a game while Bridgeport was playing, it became a memorable one very quickly. Last year, on August 21st, my Dad and I were sitting right next to the Patriots dugout, the best seats in the house when Adam Greenberg stepped up to the plate. Get ready, I’m about to get a bit off topic.

For those of you who cannot identify game is shown above or what Greenberg is known for, you can click on his name, or you can continue reading. In 2005, while playing for the Cubs organization, he was called up, and got his first major league at bat as a pinch hitter. Unfortunately, to this day, that at bat remains his only at bat ever in the Majors. It was the only pitch he ever saw. It hit him right in the back of the head, and what makes it worse is he never even had the opportunity to play the field. ESPN did an entire story on him, comparing him to Moonlight Graham. You can see the story here.

Anyway, back to the flashback. Greenberg was leading off the game, and on the third pitch of his at bat, he hit a screaming line drive in my direction. It was right at me. All I had to do was stand up, but my reaction time was not quick enough. I misjudged the ball, and it crushed the brim of the hat that I was wearing, and then caromed off of my head and into right field. I didn’t feel a thing at first, but then some pain began to set in and my Dad realized what had happened and he sat me down. I have the radio broadcast of the game somewhere, and right after the pitch, the crowd can be heard going “OHHHHH!”

All of the First Aid people were at my side within a minute, but I was telling them that I was OK, which strangely enough, I was. I did not realize it until I was in the car, on my way home that my hat had taken most of the impact of the ball.

However, I was still in some pain. When they saw that I really wasn’t hurt that badly, they gave me an icepack and told me to hold it on my head for 20 minutes or so. I had no idea who had hit it, but at that point, I really didn’t think it mattered.But when the Bluefish came onto the field for the bottom half of the inning, I saw a player come jogging out of the dugout with a bat. At that point I looked the other way at the scoreboard until I heard someone say “Excuse me” or something along those lines. I looked up and there was Adam Greenberg standing there, holding a bat out to me. I took the bat and said thank you. He then jogged out to his position in center field, leaving me with this.

I was stunned. He did not need to do that. But of course, I accepted it, and unfortunately left the stadium because of a rain delay that lasted around three hours. I did not find out about his career until the next day, and while I was on vacation a few days later, the following tweets occurred.

He was really nice about the entire thing, he really didn’t have to do anything for me. Unfortunately, Greenberg is not on the Bluefish anymore, but there was a recent article about him that said he was invited to try out for Team Israel for the upcoming World Baseball Classic and he might be making a comeback with the Bluefish. You can read all about it here.

Anyway, moving onto the actual game, it was not very eventful. After about four innings, I got bored of sitting in the middle of a row with screaming children, so I went towards the visitors bullpen, and stood in a corner in which I could see absolutely everything, including the pitchers warming up. The volume there was perfect. Soon after, when a man moved from his table and sat somewhere else, my Dad came over and joined me at that table. This was our view.

So, towards the later innings, some pitchers got up from their spot in the bullpen and began to warm up. Like Julio DePaula.

As well as Kyle Zaleski and Rommie Lewis. At the end of the game, I tried to get a ball from the Bluefish, but I was no match for the small children all around me, so I ended up going home empty handed. But I still had a good time.

Leave a Reply

